A little more about me… Aside from working full time in retail, I also happen to be a highly sought after babysitter. I’ve been babysitting for a couple of families for a few years now and I watch their kids as often as I can. Luckily, my full time job is flexible with my schedule, and the parents know to give me enough notice so that I can make sure I’m off the nights they need me.

 

Just like every other girl, babysitting was my first “job”. Over the years I’ve watched dozens of kids and seen it all. I have graphic horror stories you don’t want to hear. I feel like most people probably think babysitting is a job for young, teenage girls that just want to make some spending money. I even think that but, there are 5 kids that I still watch and have been babysitting since I was 17.

 

The 5 kids are separated into 2 different families and I met them in 2 different ways. I just adore their kids and I’ve watched them grow  so much in the past 5 years. I’ve also become really close to both families and the kids and parents love me, so they never ask anyone else to babysit.

 

The first family, I met through my dad. He works with the mother and she mentioned she needed a babysitter so he recommended me. And the second family I actually sort of got passed down to me. My cousin Krista was babysitting for them because the mother worked with her dad. When she enlisted in the Army and had to leave for basic training, she recommended me as a replacement and I’ve watched them ever since.

 

I really consider myself lucky to be able to still babysit these kids. I’ve had so much fun seeing them grow up and change, it’s like they’re my younger siblings. There’s a 10 year old, two 8 year olds, a 7 year old, and a 5 year old. They are all the most well behaved kids and getting a night off to hangout with them, while getting paid, is a pretty sweet deal.

 

I’ve experienced birthdays, boo-boos, first words, first days of school, sleepovers when mom and dad need a weekend away, everything. It’s the easiest and most fun job in the world and I’m lucky to work for some amazing people.

