In exactly 103 days I will be graduating from the University of Louisville with a bachelors degree in Communication. Just typing that out sent a wave of anxiety and excitement through my body. Since I went for a victory lap instead of graduating on time last spring, the anticipation is even more built up.

 

uofl-cas

 

The only downside to imminent graduation is one single question that I have been asked more times than I can even count. The “so what are you going to do after graduation?” question. I thoroughly hate the question, not just because of how many times I’ve been asked it, but because I get continuously judged for what my answer is.

 

I’m not ashamed that my answer is always, “I don’t know”. That is the honest truth, I do not know what I want to do after graduation and whenever someone hears that, it’s almost like they get embarrassed for asking. I would even consider it to be a somewhat inappropriate question for 2 reasons. It’s really no ones business and it could be embarrassing for the person being asked if they’re like me and don’t know what’s next.

 

I on the other hand, enjoy seeing peoples reactions when I answer. However, if people dare to continue the conversation instead of changing the subject, I’m always happy to further explain my plans.

 

In all honesty, I have no interest in jumping into a career at the age of 22, not to mention the thought of being stuck behind a desk for the rest of my life is repulsive. I chose to get a degree in Communication because it’s a pretty broad field and I know I’ll have options with it but for now, I want to enjoy my 20’s.

 

My plan boils down to getting a better, full-time job than the one I have now. Working in the retail and restaurant business for the past 6 years has left a very poor taste in my mouth but with my degree, I plan to look for something far outside of those fields. I really just want a job that will be able to support my traveling habits so that I can afford to see the world before I settle into a career and family.

 

My main goal is my own happiness which is why it doesn’t bother me when someone doesn’t like my answer to the dreaded question. My plans are simple and my plans will make me happy so that’s all that truly matters.

