fullsizerender

Don’t let the photo deceive you. I am by no means a skilled “yogi”, in fact, I’m not very good at it at all. However, it’s something that I thoroughly enjoy and have already started to notice the benefits of.

 

Before I started adding a short yoga routine to my everyday schedule I honestly always pictured yoga with soft spoken hippies, dreads, and vegan lifestyles. None of which can be used to describe me. But yoga has been incredibly beneficial to me ever since I started.

 

It all started when I was complaining to a friend about lower back pain and not wanting to rely on Advil or other light pain killers to fix the problem. That’s when my friend suggested yoga to stretch and ease the pain. At this I thought, “Eh, I’ll give it a try but I doubt it will make a difference.” Boy was I wrong.

 

I knew I didn’t want to go out and spend money on a class so instead, I searched “Yoga for beginners” on YouTube and from there, I was hooked. As a matter of fact, the photo above is from my first night trying yoga. Believe me, it’s not as hard as it looks. After watching a 5 minute video, and many failed attempts, I was able to achieve this position. I won’t even get into how hard it was just to get the photo, it was much harder than the position itself.

 

After that first night, many months ago, I have done different yoga routines almost everyday simply by looking up YouTube videos. I went from looking up beginner routines, to specific ones like “Yoga for lower back pain”, “Yoga for relaxation”, and “Yoga for strength”. There are so many different videos and tutorials out there on the Internet that won’t cost you a penny and they are so worth it.

 

Yoga has become something that I recommend to everyone. I’ve noticed so much already, like my ability to relax after a stressful day, I sleep better, and any small aches and pains in my body ease up so much after a 15 minute stretch.

 

It’s so simple and fun to get into and I can promise that it will make a difference in your everyday life with continued use and practice. Even those with the busiest of schedules can squeeze in a short routine before bed and reap the benefits of it. I don’t have time to go to the gym or the money to pay for a membership or classes. I stay in the comfort of my tiny apartment and I don’t regret giving it a shot one bit. There are yoga routines out there for everyone!

 

Go on and give it a try! You won’t regret it!

